Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Your Government

​​​​City Of Mount Sterling

Established in 1792 and incorperated in 1852. Mt. Sterling is a city of approximately 7,558 people and is the county seat of Montgomery County. The city government is classified as HOME RULE, with a Mayor-Council form of government. The Mayor serves a four-year term and council members serve two-year terms. There are no term limits and all members are non-partisan.  City council meetings are held at City Hall on the third Tuesday of every month at 7:00PM and are open to the public.